top of page

Until You Are Gone, Corona!

I live in a rural area

But still, I don’t depart

I don’t need an order from anyone

As fear has hold my heart

My daughter returned from Europe

Earlier than she planned

She ran from all the countries

That were closing up their lands

She asked if she could stay here

Quarantined inside our home

But she heard my hesitation

Its weight felt like a tome

This virus has seeped into our lives

And separated family

It creeps as silent as the night

Is gruesome and is deadly

Though I cannot hug my daughter

Nor see my wonderful son

Nor watch my daughter-in-law graduate

Nor get hugs from anyone

I hold dear the hope that coming soon

Will be days when the virus dies

So me, my husband and family

Can continue with our lives.

‘Till then I stay a hermit

Inside my home secluded

With tiny jaunts into the woods

Until this is concluded

By Sonja McGiboney

4/8/2020


21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Are You a Real Writer?

It has taken me several years to think of myself as a writer. We all know that Jazzy's books are adorable but they wouldn't win any literary awards for the best plot or whatever. When people asked me

The Rock

Writers Digest 2021 February Flash Fiction Challenge: Day 16 -For today’s prompt, I want you to think about something boring and make it interesting. The Rock. The presents were sent from all over the

bottom of page