top of page

Singing out the Eeriness.


The dim, yellow light from streetlamps fell away into the shadows of the empty shops. The street was void of cars and the beautiful brick walks empty of feet. Jazzy, ever vigilant about the boogey man on Main Street, protested this walk into the Twilight Zone.


With soothing notes and gentle tugs, I convinced Jazzy to move forward. But the invincible fog of eeriness crept into my body. A leaf which blew across the walk quickly became a black rat intent upon murder. The rustling of the bush from a cat hiding from Jazzy, instantly became a ghost trying to scare us home.


So I started doing what I always do when I get scared. I began to sing. I sang loud and clear, with all the wrong words. I made up words, I made up tunes, but I sang away the eeriness.


I apologize to all who heard me singing above their evening news, their videos or nighty night time.




33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Are You a Real Writer?

It has taken me several years to think of myself as a writer. We all know that Jazzy's books are adorable but they wouldn't win any literary awards for the best plot or whatever. When people asked me

The Rock

Writers Digest 2021 February Flash Fiction Challenge: Day 16 -For today’s prompt, I want you to think about something boring and make it interesting. The Rock. The presents were sent from all over the

bottom of page