top of page

Rhyme won't do

I like to write in rhyme

I do it all the time

But sometimes

It won't do


Rhyme is peppy

But there are times when "Peppy" is wrong

Yes

Not at all right

Peppy doesn't sing loneliness and need

The meter of well written rhyme doesn't crash your soul

Unsuspecting, uneven despair

Halting voices, tears

Long thoughtful pauses

Random thoughts ending

Life

Soulless life


Can rhyme be sad?

Can I find the words?

Good

Bad


Let's hope for good

The souls wait

For rhyme to return

A steady gait


And in the end

If you make it through

That slide into hell

Well


You've found a word

Soft and tender

Will peppy rhyme

This feeling render?


Perhaps

Perhaps there is more

A symphony of thought

On a metered score



Hello everyone, I was thinking about how I like to write in rhyme. Most of my rhyme is trite and silly and I've not been able to convey anything but upbeat, peppy stories through rhyme. I wonder if you can write a sad poem in rhyme. I feel that the matching endings, and the cadence that repeats, do not lend themselves to the words needed to convey sad feelings.


Am I wrong?

Perhaps,

Perhaps there is more

A symphony of thought

On a metered score





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sites that Teach!

Should I get a "creative writing" certificate or diploma. Perhaps, but then I look at the price tag and realize that, at age 60, it's not worth it. So how does one go about getting the education they

A Few Notes of Worth

I run an Indie Author Social once a month (or abouts) and sometimes through our random discussions, little bits of useable information is unearthed. So here it is, but remember, always investigate a p

Newsletter Platforms

Everyone’s talking emails.  The email newsletter has always been the workhorse for authors marketing their brand. But how do authors know which email “tool” to use to send those. Now if you are small,

bottom of page